Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Precision of motors question

Status
Not open for further replies.

2camjohn

OK This is my first time in the robotics section, so be gentle with me :oops: :?

I want to build a robot with a simple skid steering system which responds to simple commands such as "go forward 1 metre" "turn right 45 degrees". Its position in a room will be mapped by a computer which is controling the robot.

I am quite confident with the microelectronics side of things.

My Robot will need to move around in a room collecting data for up to 24 hours.
My question is:
Will normal servo type motors (like **broken link removed**) have sufficient precision for what I need?

Or will I have to use stepper motors?

I can imagine that lack of precision will be cause compound error. (ie if my command "go forward 1metre" only results in the robot going forward 99cm then after a "go forward 10metres" command it will be out by 10cm

Is there any other common ways of getting around this?

Thanks
John

2camjohn said:

I can imagine that lack of precision will be cause compound error. (ie if my command "go forward 1metre" only results in the robot going forward 99cm then after a "go forward 10metres" command it will be out by 10cm

Stepper motors are usually used, due to their accuracy of rotation, a servo is good for accurate movement only through part of a circle, not if modified for full rotation (a potentimeter can only turn so far!).