Research...which one??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bdoop21

Hi Electro-Tech,
This might be a silly/vague question but all these components are just plain overwhelming!

How does a person narrow it down to a specific component they need to use for a particular project? There are thousands of components....its insane!!
I have only figured out what I need so far by luck, finding an example online or something. What if I cant find an example online or anywhere else?
I mean, I guess thats how people find out, by researching... but I want a more concrete way.
Is there even A WAY?? I kind of doubt it....but worth asking, right?

The datasheets dont have THAT much information on the components application and if it does, sometimes it doesnt make sense to me, the total newbie. And its not like I'm going to read the datasheets for every component in the category to find the right one...unless thats what I have to do.

So where do you start?
Is there a book that someone can recommend?

The only example that I have is this:
I found a tutorial:
**broken link removed**
I got a ULN2003 driver and the unipolar stepper motor. I plugged it in...it didnt work. I wasnt sure if I had it wired right, or if the ULN2003 just wasnt the right driver for my purpose. I wasnt doing the exact same thing as the tutorial so thats where my lack of confidence came into play. So it ended up that I didnt have the driver wired right, but for about 10+ hours I wasnt sure if I even had the right driver to begin with. So thats what I want to know. How do I KNOW for sure its the right component?

Thanks for being understanding of my total LACK of basic knowledge.
-MBE

Well I guess you figure out what you need it to do...and then your able to narrow it down to the right component.

I'm not sure a Stepper Motor is a wise first project.

I got it working though!!!

HOW do you narrow it down? Is there an electronics bible somewhere?

Bdoop21 said:
I got it working though!!!