Servo

Status
Not open for further replies.

watzmann

Hi All;

i have a servo motor and going to control it using Microcontroller pic , but i liked to try it at first so i connect it's vcc to 5volts .but i didn't use it's signal at all

then i found that my motor is moving i think to it's initial position and then stoped there ..... and it seems it's trying to continue so it shakes

why that happened? and is it normal

Servo shouldn't move without a control signal...

Here's a link to a 555 based servo tester, simple, works...

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed** , is the main R/C page, maybe of use...

I don't know that much about servos. I started learning (not much progress) to fly a Blade CP Helicopter about 2 years ago. Got 4 servos out of an old crashed Aero-sport 60, hence my need for the servo tester, which worked great. You will get the grinding sound when you attempt to move the arm past the stops The servos I tested were weathered and dirty, but turned out to be fine. Haven't worked out an AVR assembler routine to run them yet, but have a couple of projects in mind.

Anyway, the tester I posted the link to works good, the parts don't have to be exact, the caps and pot I used were close, but within a few standard values...

You need to supply a servo a digital signal or it won't do much. Some cheap servos sit an stutter if no signal is present.
**broken link removed**

watzmann said:
but mine isn't cheap

It probably is!

I doubt the cost makes any difference though, I imagine most use identical chips inside - the price difference is most likely due to better mechanics.

The ones that don't stutter are digital and much more expensive than the common analog ones.
Most digital servos start at $100, they look like standard servos on the outside.
**broken link removed**