Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Something to read Current

Status
Not open for further replies.

saratec

I am a software engineer and my knowledge of circuits comes from my one requried AC/DC course (12yrs ago) I had to take back in college. I know OHMs Law, difference between a series and paralell circuts, and/or gates and your basic physics of electricity and am able to point out a few things on a diagram (like the ground and power source)

But ask me to design something or talk about something above the scope on wiring my 36v trolling motor with 3 deep cycle 12v batteries and I am done...

With that said, I have been given a project to read the current flowing through a house hold AC circut and measure it over time. I need a device like a clamp meter that will output data to my laptop where I then can write it to a database.

Seeing I don't even know where to being, I welcome any and all throughts. I am not affraid to role up my sleeves and do the hard work, so I am not asking for the answer (but I won't stop you if you want to give it) I am just looking to be pointed in some sort of direction...

Thanks in advance!!
GML

Any idea how much current?

Fluke (and others) now make clamp on current meters that will data log current (as well as voltage) and they come with software so the data collected can be uploaded to a PC. Some will even give you CSV if that is what you want.