Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Specific Gravity

Status
Not open for further replies.

bearwolfe

Excuse my ignorance I am very new to electronics. Is there a relatively easy way to detect the specific gravity of a liquid through an electronic circuit?

TIA

a pressure sensor should give the weight of the liquid... and the volume/level of the liquid can be detected using ultrasonic range detection or other means.. these two parameters should be enough to be processed, I think? The two outputs from both sensors can be operated since density: mass/liquid so the values can be processed using a PIC/Dsp. That is if you want to build it from scratch..

Interesting, I hadn't thought of it in that manner. I would like to build it from scratch....I am thinking about how to use it in a dynamic environment I would need to take a sample of the liquid in an automated manner, within a system and the use a pressure sensor maybe....I dunno..

I am not convinced you can determine Specific Gravity from the just the weight/height of a column of liquid, using a pressure sensor and the depth of the fluid. Read the Wiki for some of the complexities.

Last edited:
The volume (implied by the height) is what plays into the calculation of S Gr.

Keep in mind that smaller volumes makes for bigger errors on account of the tolerance of the sensors used. One of the basic things when you measure something.