Steering wheel button. Help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rene_a133

Hi everyone.

This is the new proyect and i think i might need some help with it because i am new in electronics, i know the basics and can work my way around with the appropiate guidance.

So with that said here it is.

I want to place a button behind the steering wheel of my car that can control a relay, this relay will turn on some roof lights, like a jeep´s lighting bar. I have noticed a couple of things in the research i have done. This usually is acomplished by routing the cables trough the steering wheel and trough the steering column and then to the relay. But i spoke to the guys at my mechanics shop and told me not to play with that because of the air bag.... I didn´t understand very well how can this affect the air bag, or if it was dangerous but they told me not to do it like that because of the possible malfunction or danger of injury while installing-using it, and the more serious one, the voidance of the car´s warranty
So after that piece of advice i came up with the idea of doing a wireless button.

But this is sort of challenging because of a number of factors.

1.- I understand wireless can be infrared, radio transmition or bluetooth, but i just need advice on what to choose, and how to get started buecause i have never done wireless.
As the steering wheel.... well steers, i think the infrared is not an option here, or is it? What do you think would be better, of course this will be a short range pushbutton, i dont need power for 50 yards.... yet....(lol, just kiddin).
And radio frecuency, could someone tell me if this can affect the functioning of any equipment in the car?

2.- How to power the device. The recevier can be powered easily with the car´s 12v power, but the transmiter (button), i was thinking a small battery but i dont know if anyone has a better idea.