Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

surface covering for work bench

Status
Not open for further replies.

diy didi

Hi All!
I have been doing electronic repairs for about 4 years now. Thing is, many times I end up scratching peoples stuff due to debris on my bench, leftover from previous repairs. Little pieces of solder or wire etc.
What could I use as a surface covering. Carpet perhaps?
Any ideas will be appreciated.

I wouldn't carpet a bench surface, but that being just me. I have used bench surfaces of plywood that I poly urethane coated as well as I have a bench with a formica top. Your problem as you describe it seems more an issue of needing to fix the work habits rather than a bench surface issue.

Just My Take
Ron

Agree wit Ron. It's a housekeeping issue.

Start with a clean bench.

You should ALWAYS put your parts into something. It used to be bowl, then a compartmentalized plastic thing. For the hard things, tiny Ziploc bags (about 3" x 5") with labels as to where the screws go.

I have masonite at home and have used Formica.

Working with electronics it would be a good idea to use an ESD bench pad. They are rubbery, so will protect the equipment from scratches, and you can connect a wrist-strap to them to minimize any possible ESD damage. The ESD mat can be connected to earth ground or the ground pin on the AC outlet, but that's not mandatory as long as you and the mat are at the same voltage using the wrist-strap.