Thermionic Vavles - Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

whiz115

Hi!
I have no special knowledge on electronics but i like Thermionic valves very much...i think they are more than an electronic component, they are art! or magic! like the "magic eye valve"

i need your help to understand how they work... although i know some very basic things, i need to know more... i wrote some things i know hopping they can help you understand my level, so you can answer more effectively my questions.

* I know valves are dangerous!
* I know Diodes, Triodes,Tetrodes, Pentodes, double Triodes etc
* I know that the "control grid" it's the equivalent of the base on a transistor
* I know that the "Screen grid" helps to reduce the capacitance of the valve
so we can use it in higher frequencies
* I know what is anode cathode how it works and the use of the heating filament
* i Know that they need high voltage and very low current.

And i need to know:

1) what is the "suppressor grid" exacty?
2) How the "screen grid" helps reduce capacitance?
3) what is the range of voltage and current we give at the "control grid"?
4) Where does "suppressor grid" and "screen grid" connected on a cirquit?
5) how do we measure a bad thermionic valve?
6) how two thermionic valves exist in one glass?! (double triodes)
7) i have EL84 ecc85 ech81 eaf801 can you help me build a small amp with
them?

Thank you!

Last edited:
OK, I will bite on a few points.

1 The suppressor grid is a grid close to the anode and is used to suppress secondary emission from the anode. ie electrons "bouncing back" off the anode.

2 The screen grid creates a faraday screen between the anode and control grid. The screen grid has a +ve DC potential, but is earthed at signal frequencies by a capacitor.

3 Depends on the individual valve and what it is being used for.
Generally 0volts to -10 volts (with respect to the cathode) for a small signal valve.