Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Thermocouple wire connections

Status
Not open for further replies.

frimer

I have never worked with thermocouples before so I have a few questions.

I'm going to use a k-type thermocouple for measuring temperature with a PID controller. I'm going to use miniature thermocouple connectors (Thermocouple Connectors) to connect the PID to the thermocouple.

Is it correct that I can use normal copper wire between the female socket and PID? The socket and PID are right next each other in the same housing so I would asume that they have the same temperature. As I understand it I move the cold junction from the PID to the socket that way.

The temperature at the hot junction is only going to be 20 - 50C warmer than the cold. Does that mean that I should be extra careful with having the correct cold junction temperature. (I asume it measured inside the PID)?

Is it correct that I can use normal copper wire between the female socket and PID?

No, you would use Type K T/C extension wire or just type K wire. If you connect copper to the alumel / chromel on the female mini connector you create junctions. Use small lengths of extension wire.

Your PID controller should have CJC (Cold Junction Compensation) for the T/C junction where your Type K extension wire connects to it.

Ron

Last edited:
As a time served instrument technician I can vouch for Reloadron's comments and recommendations.......