Those little laptop speakers...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Externet

Hi.
Canibalized some from defunct laptops as needed miniaturization building a project, and surprised to see them labeled as 8Ω-0.5W in about 28mm mylar. Are they that powerful, or is it just hype ?

And some are sold as 1W ! ----> **broken link removed**

And 2W also ! ----> **broken link removed**

What is to believe ?

There is no way those things are 2W. Notice they're coming from China, so I can almost guarantee it's just hype. 1W is pushing it, I would expect, but I'm not experienced with audio. audioguru perhaps you could provide some insight?

I have never tested or destroyed one of those crappy tiny speakers.
Music and speech averages a power that is much less than the occasional peak power so maybe the speakers are rated at the occasional peak power. The speakers would probably be destroyed if fed a continuous low frequency full rated power sinewave or acid rock.

I use an American (not a Chinese) Name Brand (Sylvania) powered 2.1 speaker system for my computer and TV. Its ad says Total Output= 150Watts, and RMS= 75W. But inside it has two little class-AB amplifier ICs with little heatsinks glued on top and a small transformer that is labelled "9VAC/1.1A" (9.9VA). It probably heats with 4W so its actual total electrical output is only 6W. I figure each satellite speaker gets 1.5W and the woofer gets 3W. I like it and it sounds good. It costed $25.00.

Attachments

• Sylvania speaker system.PNG
    189.1 KB · Views: 136