Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Thyristor Control Motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kirlcheah

Currently I am a college student with a project. I need to build a thyristor control voltage feed to power up a dc motor of 24V. i have basically build the power supply, which have 24V with 7824 and without overcurrent protection and have a 2N2955 bipolar transistor to provide more current to the circuit. Then i have another 7809 with plus minus voltage. This plus minus voltage will be used for opamp use for the pulse width modulation. generating a gate signal for the thyristor.. the problem is that i need the value for the commutation circuit and also for the generating pulse for the gate. how much value should i use for the capacitor, resistor and also inductor for me to switch of the thyristor. I need help fast. thanks for replying... i will post the layout or schematic fast. i need some protection for the thyristor such as dv/dt and di/dt protection also. (snubber circuit) what value to use? my thyristor is o.8A. 30V. gate current is 350uA and 1.2 Volt gate.

I do not understand why you are using a thyrister or SCR. Once you fire an SCR, the SCR remains 'ON' till you remove power.
If you are doing PWM, then use a FET or BGT to control the power to the
motor.
Does the motor run both forward and backward ?

FRED6298 said:
I do not understand why you are using a thyrister or SCR. Once you fire an SCR, the SCR remains 'ON' till you remove power.