Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Trying to build project...need to know what kind of motor to buy

Status
Not open for further replies.

scratch17

I am building a project that will need to lift a very thin sheet of aluminum (12" X 18") up and down at set time intervals. Any ideas or what type of motor this would be. Hopefully very small? I am a complete rookie when it comes to this..... I would really really appreciate any help!

Very thin is a relative term, not a metric, 12x18" is a metric, no way to determine weight without a specific thickness though. 'up and down' again it's a relative value not a specific orientation vs the flat plate you're referring to. Moving a 'flat' plate up and down against it's major dimensions as opposed to it's ends will be a VERY different situation relative to moving the same plate up and down if it's oriented on end. And more important WHAT you want to do might help us suggest things that you may not have considered.

Don't know where you are located but there are some cute little "DC Gear Motors" on Ebay.