U.S. Traffic Light

Status
Not open for further replies.

brett1405

Hello, I am new to your forum. I am trying to build a traffic light for both N/S and E/W directions ( 6 lights, U.S. version). I am new to electronics, as I am in my second quarter for a two year degree in Industrial Control Systems Tech. program. We have already designed and built the same traffic light using analog timers and relays. Now we have to do it with IC chips. I have looked over and tried to build alot of circuits posted on the web, but none have worked out. I am designing it on Multisim 10.1.1. I have learned a lot so far about the analog timers and relays, but this IC stuff is way more complicated. I am thus far thinking about designing it using a 555, a 4017 decade counter and some sort of J-K flip-flop arrangement.(?) If there is a simpler way that anybody knows of, any help would be appreciated, especially if it is a Multisim design. I don't know if we can use microcontrollers to run it, as we are supposed to keep cost to a minimum when building this. We are going to be building it for real using the Elvis II breadboard. Thank you, brett1405

Sounds like an interesting project. I've often wondered about the inner workings of traffic signals, which I ASS-U-me are nowadays controlled by microelectronics. Could you post some links to circuits you've found so far?

I'm wondering whether the "real thing" here uses discrete logic, as you're thinking of doing, or a microprocessor. Keeping in mind that such circuits must be extremely robust and fail-safe, I'd lean towards the discrete logic choice, but I really have no idea.

A microcontroller would definitely be the easiest, but as you mentioned, the chip and the programmer costs money (about $50 U.S.) I suggest you still look into it, though, just in case.
Der Strom

Heh; is that really the way 'Strine traffic light sequences work? Here in the U.S. they go green-yellow-red, not red-yellow-green.

Other than that, looks good.

Last edited: