Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Unable to send voltage through source more than that is available at gate of the Mosf

Status
Not open for further replies.

Right_Then

Dear Fellows,

i am very new to electronics and am not an engineer by trade only hobbyist. So pardon my ignorance. i am trying to build a buck converter in the bare minimum, for some reason thou i am only able to receive the voltage that i supply to the gate out of the source and not the voltage that i supply to the drain of the mosfet. i.e if i supply 12v at the gate of the mosfet and 30v at the drain output is only 9v and not 20-25v as expected while testing the mosfet if it is working or not.

i am not doing anything that a buck does but simply trying to test the mosfet that it works okay or not so i have yet not connected the inductor but simply attached a wire in place of it to complete the connection and checking all parts. but it seems that gate is working like drain and drain is working like gate. when i try it on breadboard it works. Only on pcb it seems to have problem.

i am merely connecting the gate of mosfet to a constant voltage of (12v,24v,30v ) and drain also to similar arbitrary voltages to see what would be the outcome. but voltage coming out of the source never seems to go beyond what is supplied at gate.

i am sure i am missing some silly observation to get it right but am unable to figure it out.
so please see the Attachments provided. if you could help with that.

Thanks
Regards

Attachments