Universal Interface Converter

Status
Not open for further replies.

chintan_jagani

I plan to build a universal interface converter. This project will consist of making a kit that would have various physical interfaces related to computer hardware, such as RS-232, RS-485, USB, firewire etc., at its input and output. At a time we could select any one of the interface combinations e.g. RS-232<=>USB, RS-232<=>RS-485 and the kit would control proper signal conversions. Would anybody help me in realising this project. How can I minimize the hardware requirements?

I am still a student and in initial phase of project analysis correct me if I go wrong.

I suspect your project is MUCH more complicated than you think!, you are likely to require custom IC's to make it possible!. You have a bewildering range of fast and slow, and simple and complicated - this isn't at all trivial!.

You're going to run into serious problems unless you can constrain the scope of your project. The main one being that these interfaces just *arent* compatible in software. Just a rough run through of some interfaces and some rough numbers. Simple electrical conversions aren't enough...

RS232: 150baud - 921KBaud, +-12V signaling, a half dozen or so control lines. point-to-point.
RS422/RS485: ~1Kbps - 50Mbps, *No predefined bit format*, +-3V 2 wire differential serial signal, can have multiple devices on the same wire.
USB: 1.5Mbps/sec - 480Mbps/sec, large amount of firmware and software required, implementation differs on whether this is supposed to be a host or device connection.
IEEE1394: 100Mbps - 800Mbps, ditto on the firmware, all devices are "peers" on the network

The other external (digital) interfaces I can think of:
PS2: keyboard/mouse protocols, 2 wire 5V synchronous bidirectional -hey you can use that mostly useless USRT here
IEEE1284, Parallel port: ~17 data and control lines, can do a couple MBytes/sec
SPDIF: ~3Mbps, not much protocol, .6Vpp

Then there's the really difficult ones: