Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

USB RAID

Status
Not open for further replies.

4pyros

Most Helpful Member
Has any one tried to made a raid array out of usb thumb drives under windows 7 standard edition?

Last edited:
Yes I have read they might be slow. But the newer ones are much faster and if you strip them they are even faster.

Presumably, you are talking about the Intel controller? Despite that ambiguity, I suspect an internal SSD drive in RAID 1 will beat a USB2. I have no real experience with USB3 and can't see from a practical standpoint why you would want Raid 0 for an SSD. But then, I read real slowly.

John

What exactly are you trying to achieve? There are plenty of people who have tried it and the results tend to be "yes it works, but it is only practical for very specific situations".

Given that a single SSD can pretty much saturate a USB3 link, all you are doing by striping is increasing your overhead and failure rate.

What exactly are you trying to achieve?
Just trying to find something to do with a bunch of cheep drives. It would be neat if you could put a bunch in a hub and have them work like one drive.