Voltage limiter for solar charger

Status
Not open for further replies.

leefurness

OK, I am very new to electronics and am just starting to learn the basics. I ordered a solar panel from eBay to charge my phone and ipod. It was a 6v 400ma panel and had a usb connector on it already, so you can just plug it in and off you go. That works fine but the phone needs +5v to start charging, and the ipod needs about +5.4v. But they will keep on charging until the voltage drops to about 4.5v.So in my office or outside on a cloudy day they do not start to charge but they would continue to charge once they started.

I thought that i could get a 7.5V+ solar panel which would have a better chance of having more than 5v in low level lighting conditions. The problem is that I don’t want to fry the phone.
Is there a way of limiting the voltage to 6v without regulating it?
I don’t care if it drops below 6 volts, just not above. I looked into zener diodes and switching regulators but they all seem to restrict the voltage or waste power.
I did read something about using a couple of transistors but I didn't really understand it.

Any Ideas?

hi,
Using a linear voltage reduction circuit usually means 'wasting' some power as heat.

For your case I would use a simple zener diode and resistor configured as a shunt regulator.

A 5.6V zener diode rated at about 3Watts, calculate the value of the series resistor for the current required by your phone/ipod.

Last edited:
Ok, but does that mean that the voltage will always be 5.6v? I understand that it will limit it to 5.6v but will it let any less than that through? does it have to get to atleast5.6v before it will let any electricity pass?
Also do I have to use a resistor? if I am happy for whatever ampage the solar panel produces to be passed through or does it have to be there?
what resistor would I have to use if I wanted it to be restricted to say 300ma? how would i work it out? sorry for all the questions but I have a lot to learn.