Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Want to buy a soldering iron

Status
Not open for further replies.

lefam

Hi guys,

I want to buy a soldering iron that I will be using in my hobby electronic projects.

I have never used one before, so I have some questions:

- What is the recommended wattage for small projects?
- Can you recommend me a good soldering iron?
- What about helping hands?

Thank you!!!

Hi,

30 to 40 watts is good for small stuff, get some extra tips. SM parts require small tips or special equipment.
Helping hands help to solder things together like two wires or wire and component, etc.
Solder is important too. Get solder recommended for electronics work, but for SM parts thin silver bearing solder works better.
Im sure others here will have some more info to give you about solder.

Personally I have a few 15 / 30 watt switchable units that are fine for everyday hobby task. They aren't fancy but get the job done. Their cost is in the $8.00 to about $12.00 USD range. I also have a few much higher end controlled heat soldering stations that I really like, however, they come with a higher price tag, exceeding $100 USD. So budget figures into things. Here are some examples on an incomplete web page. As MrAl points out, buy extra tips if you can and if possible different size and design tips.

Ron

Is the brand important? Or just the wattage?