Welder rectifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

bill_gj

First off - Hello All.
I'm a relativley new member that's been reading the forum but never posted.

I'm not an electronic engineer, I just hobby dabble a bit as I need to.

So - I've been trying to find info on using FETs instead of diodes in a full-wave bridge for a welder. I want to turn my old AC welder into a capable DC unit and a power source for a TIG add-on.

Why FETs? Because big (>100A) diodes get very expensive and I suspected that I could get plenty of MOSFETs to parallel-up for current at a better price (surplus) than suitable diodes.

Be gentle.

Many thanks ParkingLotLust - try as I might, I didn't find that link myself.
It's amazing how you change the Google results with a small change in words.

It's pretty much what I was looking for. The use of P and N type FETs to use instead of diodes was what I was looking for.
I suppose (because I don't know) that I could parallel the FETs as well to increase the current capacity?

From the data sheet at Theta Engineering: Design Ideas: FET Bridge, it looks like the limiting applied voltage is 20 Volts...peak...This would be about 14 Volts RMS. You might want to measure the output of your AC welder and see how this compares .... If your AC welder has an adjustable output, maybe it would be just a matter of keeping the output below a certain level.

Hi there,

The general idea is called "Synchronous Rectification" and doing a search
on that will turn up quite a few results.

Hi there,

The general idea is called "Synchronous Rectification" and doing a search
on that will turn up quite a few results.

It was used in old valve car radios - they used a vibrator to feed a transformer to generate the HT voltages. The vibrators came in two types, non-syncronous (which required a rectifier - usually a metal type), and syncronous - which had extra contacts on the vibrator that mechanically rectified the output.