Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Which PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carnivore

Hey All.

Im sure you have heard this question so many times by now that your sick of hearing it but here it goes.

<Insert standard "im a newb" heading here/>

I would like to start programming PICs and the READ THIS post in this section recomends the 16F628a. (sounds fine) but i go to MicroChip web site to buy the PIC and i see there are multiple ones listed with the same number but they are followed by a prefix (such as 16F628a-E/FL or 16F628a-E-SO). being new i have no idea what i need. can someone help me out here. i know they are cheap but i would not like to order the wrong parts and then have to wait for shipping then reorder again.

One more thing. the reason i am wanting to lear to program a PIC is so that i can manage Serial Data Bits. (for example, is it possible to input serial, pull out the 3rd data bit and replace it with something else then forward it on?) and if so, is this something that can be accomplished with the 16F628a PIC?

Most any PIC is good I would think- just don't get a one-time programmable (OTP) version. Preferably a EEPROM or FLASH version. And probably one in a DIP package and enough pins so you can leave the pins just for programming and debugging to do just that (and only that) to make things easier.