Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

why did I blow my power adapter??

Status
Not open for further replies.

max90272

Hi there,
Couple things...probably related. I'm building a stepper motor driver on a breadboard and somehow the zener diode gets SUPER hot.. I mean it goes from red to almost black.. Is this normal... Then, I blew my 12v power adapter?? What are the reasons why a power converter blows?
Thank you in advance. I am a beginner.:confused:

You probably overloaded the power supply. Polarity of zener wrong ?

Draw the circuit which you were connecting to your PSU.

Zener connected directly to power supply with no limiting resistor?

Of course the output of the 12V power supply was shorted by the lower voltage zener diode. Then both got SUPER hot.

Why did I blow my power supply (part 2)?

Hi there,
Thank you all who tried to give me some tips yesterday in regards to why my zener diode was super hot, and ultimately why I blew up my 12v power adapter...

I have checked that there is indeed resistor between PSU and diode, and direction of zener diode seems fine (the black line on the + side, right?)

So i decided to take a picture of my breadboard and post it here in hopes that someone can tell me what i am doing wrong. The first file is the schematic that I followed (stepper motor driver) and the other 2 are from my breadboard with a close up on the zener diode. Of course, if you have a lot of time and feel like checking my whole connections, I would really appreciate it also.