Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Will this work to drive my bi-polar LED?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikahB

Hi guys, I'm building a prototype circuit and would like to implement the "truth table" on the attached diagram. I'm a complete newb at circuit design stuff, and am just wondering if the attached diagram will in fact implement the behavior I'm trying to achieve at the LED. Both ACTIVE and ALARM signals are +5V, btw.

Specifically, I'm unsure about the FET I have driving the "red" LED - will it be happy driving this direction or do I need to switch source and drain?

I appreciate any feedback/insight.

EDIT: The "TO LED OUTPUT" is because there will be an LED on the board, but I hope to be able to drive another LED by connecting this output and ground to it approximately 10 feet away.

Last edited:
The minimum output high voltage from an old fashioned 74LS08 is only 2.7V. But your Mosfets need a gate-source voltage much higher to fully turn on and some barely turn on conducting only 1mA when the gate-source voltage is 2.4V (the maximum threshold voltage).

Since you have one pin of the bi-color LED connected to ground then the RED LED will never light since it needs its other pin to be at a negative voltage that your circuit does not have.

Your idea of making a NAND gate with two series Mosfets and a voltage divider will not work.

The LM324 opamp does not do anything since its output will be low all the time.