Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bus Switcher with Counter

Status
Not open for further replies.

emailer33

So this is my first time trying to come up with a decent circuit myself, and I was hoping someone could help me come up with what would be the best way to do this.

I'm using the A/V switcher tutorial on engadget that uses a 8-bit TTL bus switcher. I'm going to have 5 of them, and rather than control them all with push switches, i wanted two momentary switches and a counter display. I figured a modulo-5 setup with a 74ls90 was the best route after reading some simple circuits, but I have no idea how to set up the 7490 for a modulo-5 setup, nor having a way of enabling just one switch per number.

So what would be a good way to do this, and is there anything I should really watch out for?

Last edited:
emailer33 said:
So what would be a good way to do this?

I have read the engagdet article. It seems pretty straightforward. Let me see if I understand the problem:

You want one pushbutton that will advance a counter from 1 through 5, and upon reaching a certain number, the other pushbutton will select and activate the corresponding bus switch. Is that basically it?

I'm sorry, actually I just want two push buttons to control a counter, one to advance it, the other to decrease it, I want the bus switch to be activated as soon as the number is changed.

hi,
The 74LS90 is only an up counter, it can be configured to count as a '5' counter,