Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CDI project

Status
Not open for further replies.

yusuf86

Hello everyone !
I'am just designing a Capacitive Discharge Ignition Project (Not to be used for a vehicle), I have tried to create a circuit diagram so just need to know whether it will work or not... and of course all your suggestions and reviews are welcomed !
PS : Please IGNORE any silly mistakes in the circuit coz I'm a newbie.

Attachments

• C_D_I.JPG
    C_D_I.JPG
    14.4 KB · Views: 245
Last edited:
Not a useable circuit.

First, the goal should be to establish a current in the coil primary, and then suddenly turn off the switch. The collapsing coil current is what makes the spark. Your idea (I think) is to establish the current, and then let the SCR turn off due to the zero-crossing of the AC input, which has nothing to do with the coil current.

Second, you have wiring mistake such that the AC source is shorted by the SCR.

Not a useable circuit.

First, the goal should be to establish a current in the coil primary, and then suddenly turn off the switch. The collapsing coil current is what makes the spark. Your idea (I think) is to establish the current, and then let the SCR turn off due to the zero-crossing of the AC input, which has nothing to do with the coil current.

Second, you have wiring mistake such that the AC source is shorted by the SCR.