Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cold Cathode Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anomenx

Hey everyone!

I'm new to these forums, and looking around, this seems like a pretty cool place. i've had a lot of electronic questions lately and none of my friends can really help me out... so i googled a question and it brought me here! :]

I'm kinda new with the whole working with electronics thing though... so sorry if this seems like a dumb question.

I have this old pc that i'm using for scrap parts. I found 2 cold cathode light bulbs that pulse with music inside of it (you can turn the pulse off though so it is just a steady light). A buddy of mine has a bar in his basement, and sometimes it gets pretty dark under the bar when you're looking for drinks. So it hit me last night... maybe i can use these light bulbs and mount them under the bar to give it this cool glow and also light up the area making it easier to see.

it seems like a pretty cool idea. my question is however... how could i connect the light bulbs to a normal wall plug? (it has one of those plugs that you use to connect it to a computer power supply) and how much power should the plug be able to provide? the lights have an inverter on them... but with my lack of electronic knowledge... i really dont actually know what thats for haha. :X

any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!

-Sean