my project is simple but infact im still a beginner
in first year
my project is Shaft Encoder
anyway
i connected the counter 74193 in my circuit
the clock input to the counter is the opto coupler output
but the counter is counting nonsense
it counts 1 5 7 1 5 7 13 just like that
so plzzzzzzzzz any one tell me what to do to make it count right, from 1 to 16 in binary
waiting from u all
thanx
bye

Did you install a bypass capacitor?

Logic circuits need a 100 nF capacitor between the Vcc and gnd pins, ie. usually pins 14 & 7 for a 14 pin IC and pins 16 & 8 for a 16 pin. One for each IC.

If you don't have adequate bypassing, you will see strange effects due to coupling through the supply line.

Another possibility is the rise and fall times of the clock signal. If they are too slow, it may not count properly. See the dtat sheet for the 74193.

Last edited:
You may need a pull up resistor too, not sure if that one counts on the negative pulse flank, but for a 5 Volts DC supply 2k2 Ohms is usually adequate.

will the 2.2K resistor b connected in sereis with the 100nF capacitor btween vcc & ground??
also,,
the rise & fall not too slow
im using a motor of speed 30/36,, which rotates the disc & causes pulse
is that slow???
plz tell me
thanx

You may need to clean up the output of the optocoupler with a comparator to get good quick, clean, hi-lo transitions. I experienced similar problems with a modified mouse project and a comparator was the solution.

Haidy said:
will the 2.2K resistor b connected in sereis with the 100nF capacitor btween vcc & ground??
also,,
the rise & fall not too slow
im using a motor of speed 30/36,, which rotates the disc & causes pulse
is that slow???
plz tell me
thanx