Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Diodes for transients

Status
Not open for further replies.

shortbus=

Most Helpful Member
In this thread, https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/how-to-choose-opto-isolator.144973/#post-1224237 Crutschow posted a schematic showing a reversed diode used for reverse transient protection. Drawing below, D1 is the one in question.

My question is, would a TVS diode work in this circuit? I'm very new to designing circuits and trying to understand the how's and why's of what people are doing. Some other circuits I've seen use this too, but most don't.

I had two understandings about diodes. 1. they block reverse voltage and 2. they are destroyed by a high reverse voltage. Any help in this is appreciated.

tradking-reg-opto-gif.93068

U3 has PNP inputs with a single supply, so any negative voltage can potential forward bias the Vbc input junction instead of Vbe. The BC junction is much lower capacitance and higher resistance than the BE junction and will catastrophically fail when forward biased with any significant load. Thus the LM358 has an ABSOLUTE MAXIMUM input voltage of -0.3V. In case of load dump or short transient, the LM358 must be protected at all costs from not going below this voltage, so that the input differential pair can properly function and not become unpredictable below ground.

Thus I would use a Schottky diode for protection and not a Silicon diode for a lower threshold of 0.2V at low current.