Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FPGA Project.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrz126

Hi Gang,

I need some ideas for a final project for my advanced digital class...(Note that I am just looking for ideas and not a solution, so please dont harass me :)

I'm an electrical engineer major but I'm going for a 2nd major in computer engineering. So being a EE, I'm looking to interface some sort of hardware to the FPGA...Motors, LEDs, etc.

I'm kinda leaning towards an inverted Pendulum, but I'm sure there are plenty of other cool projects out there.

Any Suggestions?

The FPGA is a Xilinx Spartian II.

This caught my eye. A variation on the theme of the inverted pendulum,
similiar in many ways to Segway and yet it poses some intruiging new problems.

Attachments

• embrio.jpg
    embrio.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 232
LCD or OLED displays are always fun to build into a project - having a nice human readable interface makes projects more "hands-on."

RC servo's are dead easy to interface to, and you don't have to do any funny analog business.

Input devices are also interesting - PS2 mice and keyboards have well documented protocols, so implementing those are also a nice add-on.

Why dont' you try a digital LED based moving display which would be a small weather station displaying wind speed, amount of rainfall, temperature and levels of ambient pollution interspaced with date and time of the location?

Thanks for all the suggestions...