Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help: Simple Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

krich

I am just starting out in electronics, so forgive my questions about relatively basic things.

I am trying to electrically control a "contact closure" sensor. Currently the sensor is set up with a reed switch and magnet. I'd like to remove the reed switch and magnet and replace that with a visible laser/photocell switch.

I was able to design a circuit that works...well, most of the time. It works on the breadboard, but it seems to have problems in the long term when I built a PCB and I can't figure out why this is. One of my challenges is that the voltage is very low between the contact closure pads. Just 0.45V.

So, my plan is the following:

1) Build a typical voltage divider circuit off a 3VDC source with a 10K resistor and a CdS photocell with a range of Rdark=2,000,000ohms, Rlaser=100ohms, Rambient=9000ohms. I've done the math and that's where I came up with the 10K resistor (probably should be more like 20K, but it's what I've got). The photocell is on the ground side of the voltage divider, so that Vout is ~2.9V when dark.

2) Use the Vout of the voltage divider circuit to drive a NPN 2n3904 transistor which will switch on/off the contact closure pads.