Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED in a painting help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

covertmesa

Hi people, i'm really new to this and was wondering if anyone could provide a simple, basic, schematic to hook up 3 led's to a 9v battery with a power switch? I've been searching on google and I guess i'm not typing in the right things, I keep getting really advanced results.
I wan't to put the leds in a painting i'm working on for someone.
Thanks in advance.

It may also help to know that I have some knowledge in circuits and electronics. I know that i'll need to use resistors to lower the voltage to each colored light according to the specs OF that color and I have a decent understanding of building circuits and reading the schematics. I'm just having a hard time understanding the more advanced electronics speak on the sites i've found, and most are for things that are not exactly what i'm looking for.

No offence to your idea, but i have seen this done before. It looks like crap. That is my opinion, but there were a few cool ones. Anyways you will need a 300 ohm resistor.

Better use a dc powersupply.
Depending upon the type of LED you want to use your 9 Volt battery won't last long if you run the LED's at 20 mA..

3 leds in series would be your best bet and series resistor perhaps from the battery for a couple of hours at say 5 mA.

covertmesa said: