Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Lighting Up a Model - Circuit Help/Review Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jerry Brady

I'm not much of an electronics guy, but I've gotten this far with a project to light up a model that I've been working on for 5 years. The problem I am having is that the flasher circuit I built causes all the other lights in the model to dim a bit when the flasher circuit flashes its lamp. It's really annoying.

I know that there must be some kind of current/voltage drop because of the load and I don't know whether it is something in the circuit or the power supply I'm using just can't keep up.

Here is the circuit:

**broken link removed**

Questions:

Should I swap the lamps for 6.3V/150mA units to draw less current so I can rule out over driving the power supply?

Is there a way to isolate the load from the flasher circuit so it won't affect the other lights?

Any help appreciated.
- Jerry

maybe I don't understand but from your circuit, you have 6.3V lamps hooked up to a 12 volt rail.

What is your "dc supply" - a wall wart or some regulated supply? more info would be useful.

have you measured the voltage of the circuit (with out the flasher) but with the lamps on? I bet it has dropped quite a bit below 12V since you are pulling about twice the current (1500 mA vs 750). O bet the power supply runs pretty warm.

The power supply is a wall wart rated 12V/1200mA.