need an interesting project

Status
Not open for further replies.

sarah s

hey, im a yr 12 student in victoria australia, and i need to construct a project in my electronics class , im a 17yr old girl. this project needs to take me all year to make, and because i do two electronic subjects, i need to do two different projects. one project needs to be integrated with a mechanical system and either electrical or electronic system. i was considering making a merry-go-round, but cant find any info about how it works inside. if u have information about this, or any other projects that u think would be a good choice to make, can u please let me know.
thank u very much.
cya

On my trip to work this morning we (fellow ham radio operators w/mobile radios) discussed loop antennas for broadcast/medium wave reception - and how nice it would be to construct one that is motorized and amplified.

A loop antenna about 18 inches square with 30 or so turns of wire and a variable capacitor can allow very directional reception of radio stations between 500 kHz and as high as 7 or 10 mHz. Most build them for 530 to 1700 - AM here in the US. When aimed in the direction of the station the signal is stronger. The better part - there are directions where the antenna can actually exclude a signal ( a null). That feature can allow you to receive a distant station that is on the same frequency as a more powerful local station. There are two things to control - antenna direction (rotation) and tuning (the variable capacitor). An amplifier can be provided to improve things.