need to drop 6v to 3v

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonny4580

i am new to this electronics and im trying to drop the voltage from a transformer down to 3 volts to run an electric shaver, my question is which would be the best way to do this a resister, or would i need to build a small circuit??
any advice welcomed
Jonny

More information needed -

Does this transformer have a center tapped secondary?

Does the razor require AC or DC voltage?

Do you have a multimeter capable of measuring how much current it takes to operate your shaver?

Thanks for your help guys

right the transformer just has a live and neutral output on it which is at 6 volts DC
The razor needs 3V DC so i need to reduce the voltage somehow i wont ned a bridge rectifier as its already DC current coming from the transformer, i do have a multimeter it's a fluke 112true rms meter but how do i measure the current needed to run the shaver do i run it throught the meter I,E neutral from transformer, to neutral on meter, then live from the meter to the neutral on the razor?
Sorry if this is a silly question but ive forgotten more thn i used to know because i havnt messed with electronics for about 4 years now so be gentle please, lol
Cheers
Jonny

you can make a thing called a "shunt regulator" it consists of 1 resistor and 1 zener diode! if you can find out what the current draw is on the razor, i can help you choose what resistor and zener diode to use!? there are other options of course, but it all comes down to how many parts you want to use and how you are going to assemble your voltage regulator!?

To read Voltage with your multimeter, make sure the mode switch is set to AC or DC VOLTS, that the red/black leads are plugged into the normal + - jacks, and put the leads ACROSS the voltage being measured.