Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Request for help on an LED bar graph circuit by an electronics noob.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThrowingChicken

Apologies if this is not the right kind of forum for this, but it came up in my search and appears to be the kind if place I'm looking for.

I am a complete amateur when it comes to wiring and circuit boards; not even an amateur, a complete noob, I know next to nothing other than LED's require resistors to prevent them from burning out. What kind of resistors? I don't know. So please keep that in mind and bear with me.

That said, I am hoping someone here would be willing to help me come up with a simple diagram for an LED bar graph circuit made out of parts I can find at Radio Shack, online, or other small electronics stores that I can put together myself pretty easily (So long as I can solder and follow the diagram). The LED bar graph would simply bounce up and down, similar to what you would see on a stereos sound level graph, or what is seen in the video below, but the pattern does not actually have to represent a read out.

https://www.micsaund.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/02/bargraph.avi

The LED bar graph in the video was created to display the RPM of his hard drive, and from what I can tell requires special computer peripherals to program the circuit, which I'd rather not have to purchase.