Senior Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

steelerfan11

I have a senior design project comming up starting in January. I am an Electrical Engineering student. I also will be limited with money. I just want to avoid programming(if at all possible). I am looking for any ideas that any of you guys might have. Thanks for all your help and ideas that anyone will be able to give.

A few comments -

A. Do you have any areas of interest such as music, robotics, etc - where electronics might be applied? If you have to work on a project it might as well support other areas of interest.

B. Programming seems to be a huge part of electronics today that I'd encourage you not to be so deliberate in avoiding it. As a hobbyist I find that I can no longer avoid it. PIC, BASIC Stamp, PICAXE are among the common lower cost programmable devices.

I sorta like high power stuff. I wanted to do exploding wire, but I was not permitted due to it being done a lot already. That is why I came on here to asked for suggestions on what to do. I have a classmate that wants to do something with music and he is having problems with being aloud to do that also. Robotics would be really cool and fun i think.

I know I shouldn't avoid programming. I have learned how to program a PIC, Z80, and 68K. We learned them all at the same time and it was very confusing. I also have done programming in VHDL, C++, and LabVIEW. It is something I know I wouldn't do on my spair time for fun. I don't mind programming in VHDL. So if I had to choose one that would probably be the one that i would pick.

here are a few that I have done that are impressive to look at, and not too expensive.