Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Some questions - New in CPLD & FPGA

Status
Not open for further replies.

atferrari

Most Helpful Member
decided to learnt about CPLD and FPGA and commenced to read "The design warrior's guide to FPGAs" by C. Maxwell. Clear and to the point.

Budget is a concern. Still considering costs for a starter kit, probably Coolrunner II from Xilinx. Yes it's a CPLD.

As a self taught hobbyist I don't like to waste my time and money as I did many times in the past.

My quyestions, which if possible, please reply in same order:

0 - Should I read something else before, on CPLDs?

1 - All what I will know about CPLD will be useful later with FPGAs? Am I not going to a dead end instead?

2 - Do you know of a cheaper (costwise) way to start with CPLD? If so, how advisable compared to Coolrunner II?

3 - Once I finished the manual what should be my next reasonable step?

4 - With the abstraction level that those languages seem to allow, how much detail do I need to go into for every "component" I need to implement? Honestly I forgot many details on flip flops, counters or shift registers but I think I still know well what they do and when I need them? (Well I hope it will be so...)

5 - Advices / comments on the above, appreciated.

Agustín Tomás

yes you should have basic knowledge of digital logic design. i mean boolean algebra, logic gates, sequential and combinational logic etc.