Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Supply Voltage Design criteria in Amplifiers

Status
Not open for further replies.

aurosunil

I am trying to design an amplifier using 2N5088 bipolar transistor. I am using voltage divider biasing.
I want to know what value of Vcc I should use and why? I have gone through the data sheet but could not find any help in this direction. This is my first attempt on the application side. Can any one help me?

sunil :?

I'm not very sure what you are asking?, the supply voltage isn't particularly dependent on the transistor you use, but on other factors - mainly the voltage swing you need. The main concern for the transistor is that it can handle the voltage you provide it.

The Second main concern is adjusting the Base Bias Correctly.

In a typical class A amplifier, with no signal present, the collector voltage should be 1/2 Supply, Plus .6 volts.

So for a 12 volt supply, the collector voltage would be 6.6 volts.
This should give the Best Symetrical Output Signal.

The Supply Voltage should Not Exceed 30 Volts for this transistor.
I Also like and use the 2N5088.

chemelec said:

The Supply Voltage should Not Exceed 30 Volts for this transistor.
I Also like and use the 2N5088.
Thank you Chemelec for response.

What are the factors on whic this supply voltage depends? On what basis you said that Supply Voltage for this transistor or any other should not exceed 30 Volts?

aurosunil said: