Wireless activate and supply power to 12V Solenoid Valve

Status
Not open for further replies.

atattack

Hi, I have very little electronics knowledge and am trying to figure out how to wireless activate a 12VDC Solenoid Valve and also power it. Here is a link to the valved I am trying to activate.

https://www.dudadiesel.com/choose_item.php?id=2WJ40040N

Here is a link to the transmitter/receiver I am trying to activate it with.

**broken link removed**

The valve is normally closed and needs to be opened for literally 1/5 of a second to release the air which will be around 300psi. After calling valve company they said it takes .833 amps for this to happen and of course it is a 12VDC valve.

My plan was to use a 10 cell AA battery holder like this one

**broken link removed**

I read that 8 AA batteries would give me 12 Volts but was wondering if I went up to 15V with 10 AA batteries if that would help.

If you read in the comments section of the key chain remote you will see about four posts down someone that modified the remote so it will close the circuit when button is pressed and open the circuit as soon as you release the button. Figured this would be a good mod if I could find someone to do it.
Again, thank you in advance for the help as I have very little electronics/wiring knowledge.

If the AA cells are alkaline you get 15V, which may or may not damage the valve solenoid depending on its characteristics and the cell resistance (I think damage is most unlikely if it's only powered briefly). If they're NiMH or NiCd you get ~ 12.5V; a safer bet. Someone else may be able to advise you on the Tx/Rx mod.

I would run with the suggestion from alec_t and use NiMh or NiCd batteries. That keeps your voltage around 12 volts and affords a nice little rechargable battery pack. That should work out quite well.