Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

bipolar voltage supply with zero crossing (+/- 100V)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrDunk

Hi all,
Apologies in advance is this may seem a naive question, or if it has been covered before.

I am a Physical Chemist, working at a Uni in Australia, and I need to have some voltage supplies for electrostatic lenses of a mass spectrometer. The supplies need to be bipolar, and be tunable from -100V to 100V out of the one channel (i.e. not unplugging the leads). In all I need four independent supplies. The current would be very low, as the electrostatic lenses are isolated from ground.

A group I worked with in Germany had six electronics gurus who made these things, however here I have not much support!

What I am looking for is an answer to the question, can these be made easily? Does anyone have an idea on how this can be done?

I would really appreciate your help!

By the way, I said that I was a Physical Chemist to highlight the fact that I am a simpleton when it comes to electronics!

Hi Nigel,
thanks for getting back to me. Unfortunately, they are not being very forthcoming with the schematics. I have asked a few times, and been fobbed off. I will ask again, however I am not hopeful!

Just wanted to see if anyone had an idea of how to do it, as I am challenged when it comes to these things.

DrDunk said:
Hi all,