Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help needed with power supply RC filter repair

Status
Not open for further replies.

jfs

Hello to you,

this is my first post and I'd like to point out i'm a newbie at electronics, so please be gentle with math (I guess my girlfriend can help, lol)

I am trying to repair a power supply, but cannot figure what value the resistor is in the RC filter.

Here is a picture:

**broken link removed**

the capacitor value is 2200uF/16v. This filter is in a 120 VAC 60Hz 31w input, 5VDC 1A +/- 12VDC 300mA power supply.

Thank you very much for your assistance

jf

The picture doesn't show the colour bands on the resistors. Look on a google for resistor colour codes and use your own eyes to determine the resistors value.

Yes, I know the code but the thing is cooked from the eloctrolyte that oozed from the cap, can't figure the first band (might be brown), the second seems to be violet. I thought there might have been some kind of formula to determine the value.

Thanks for your help, I really need this psu back in order.

You sure the failed component is the resistor? The burn marks on the board seem centered on the diode bridge, one of the diodes is visably cracked. What's the physical distention on the large vertical element next to the cracked looking diode? Looks like heat shrink over some component.

If you need the PSU up ASAP replace it with a working one, and figure out the failed one later.

Last edited:
Unfortunately I can't find another one :(