Stereo Guitar Cabinet Switcher

Status
Not open for further replies.

GtarPlaya11

I want to switch from one set of speakers to another 'on the fly' via MIDI control, ideally. I want to do this in dual discrete mono (stereo after the source, the source being a guitar). There are mono versions of this switcher but no stereo version.

For the guitar players - I want to switch a mesa/boogie stereo tube amp from a Marshall 4x12 cab (in stereo) to two 1X12 GK openback cabs, one on either side of the Marshall. The GKs are great for time domain effects (delays, chorusing, stereo panning etc) and the Marshall is great for destructo crunch.

The main issue in design is that the tube amp needs to always see a load, so you can't simply 'throw the switch'. I am not an electronics expert - just a guitar player with a soldering iron. Any thoughts?

HiTech said:
OMG! another tube amp afficionado? You're going to get heckled for sure.

No, we've no problem with valve guitar amps! - there are sound reasons for wanting the high distortion and low quality, you're not looking to hear an accurate rendition of the guitar.

For the OP, from what I gather you want to effectively switch between two pairs of speakers - all you need is a double-pole double-throw switch (DPDT), or a relay. As you want it done from MIDI, a relay is obviously essential, and you should be able to arrnage a MIDI controlled relay.

There's no problem with the valve amp loading, as you're switching from one load to another, not running without a load - the miniscule time interval of the switching isn't a problem.

Why from MIDI anyway?.

Not an afficionado -just a guitar player - is someone going to tell me I'm wrong and that I actually DON'T like the sound of tubes better?..that would be interesting. It's critical to the design, so we might as well get the Tubes vs Trans disco dance over with.